Monday, October 11, 2010

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs (GBLTQ related)

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs can be used to analyze any part of your life and the development there of. The Hierarchy is as follows:

1 Biological and Physical needs
(Basics of life - air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep, exc.)

2 Safety needs
(Protection, security, order, law, limits, stability, exc.)

3 Belongingness and Love needs
(Family, affection, relationships, work group, exc.)

4 Esteem needs
(Achievement, status, responsibility, reputation)

5 Cognitive needs
(Knowledge, meaning, self-awareness)

6 Self-actualization
(Personal growth, self-fulfillment)

7 Transcendence
(Helping others to self-actualize)

This is often represented in a triangle and in the reverse order as seen above.

No comments:

Post a Comment